Audi Claim Pole Position in Belgium

470_2013_WEC_AUDI#1_02_GDThe new FIA WEC qualifying format produced an exciting 30-minute qualifying session at Spa-Francorchamps with the nr1 Audi R18 e-tron quattro of Marcel Fassler and Andre Lotterer producing an average time of 1m59.961 over the four best laps for each driver to take pole position ahead of the nr3 Audi of Lucas Di Grassi and Marc Gene and the nr2 Audi of Tom Kristensen and Allan McNish.

The nr41 Greaves Motorsport Zytek-Nissan of Chris Dyson crashed heavily on the exit of Rivage to bring out the red flags after just six minutes. The American was OK but the car was stranded in a unsafe position.

At the restart it was the Audis that took control with the two Toyotas unable to get on terms with their rivals and at the chequered flag it was the nr7 TS030 of Alex Wurz and Kazuki Nakajima in 4th, 0.9 seconds adrift of the pole time, with teammates Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi in the 2012 spec nr8 Toyota in 5th a further three tenths slower.

The nr12 Rebellion Lola Toyota of Nick Heidfeld and Neel Jani finished at the head of the LMP1 Privateer field in 6th overall, with an average time of 2m01.482. Jani and Heidfeld were 1.8 seconds ahead of their teammates in the nr13 Lola Toyota and a further half a second ahead of the all British Strakka Racing HPD-Honda.

The LMP2 class was fought out between the nr49 Pecom Racing Oreca-Nissan of Pierre Kaffer and Nicolas Minassian and the nr38 Jota Zytek-Nissan of Oliver Turvey and Lucas Luhr. At the chequered flag it was the Argentinian team who got the upperhand to take the class pole in a time of 2m08.540, just 0.4 seconds ahead of the Jota Zytek. Oak Racing claimed P3 and P4 with their Nissan powered Morgans ahead of Silverstone winners Delta ADR.

There will be a 20 minute warm up session at 09:00 tomorrow morning with the WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps getting underway at 14:30.

Full results can all be found HERE

WEC 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps – Qualifying LMP1 and LMP2

1 1 Audi Sport Team Joest A. LOTTERER / M. FÄSSLER Audi R18 e-tron quattro LMP1 1’59.961
2 3 Audi Sport Team Joest L. DI GRASSI / M. GENÉ Audi R18 e-tron quattro LMP1 +0.275
3 2 Audi Sport Team Joest T. KRISTENSEN /A. MCNISH Audi R18 e-tron quattro LMP1 +0.649
4 7 Toyota Racing A. WURZ / K. NAKAJIMA Toyota TS030 – Hybrid LMP1 +0.986
5 8 Toyota Racing A. DAVIDSON / S. BUEMI Toyota TS030 – Hybrid LMP1 +1.242
6 12 Rebellion Racing N. JANI / N. HEIDFELD Lola B12/60 Coupé – Toyota LMP1 +1.521
7 13 Rebellion Racing A. BELICCHI / M. BECHE Lola B12/60 Coupé – Toyota LMP1 +3.317
8 21 Strakka Racing D. WATTS / J. KANE HPD ARX 03c – Honda LMP1 +3.727
9 49 Pecom Racing N. MINASSIAN / P. KAFFER Oreca 03 – Nissan LMP2 +8.579 2’08.540
10 38 Jota O. TURVEY / L. LUHR Zytek Z11SN – Nissan LMP2 +8.801
11 24 OAK Racing O. PLA / A. BRUNDLE Morgan – Nissan LMP2 +8.971
12 35 OAK Racing B. BAGUETTE/M. PLOWMAN Morgan – Nissan LMP2 +9.645
13 25 Delta-ADR A. PIZZONIA / J. WALKER Oreca 03 – Nissan LMP2 +9.771
14 26 G-Drive Racing J. MARTIN / M. CONWAY Oreca 03 – Nissan LMP2 +9.931
15 31 Lotus K. V. LIUZZI / J. ROSSITER Lotus T128 LMP2 +10.400
16 32 Lotus T. HOLZER / D. KRAIHAMER Lotus T128 LMP2 +12.792
17 45 OAK Racing J. NICOLET / J. MERLIN Morgan – Nissan LMP2 +13.557

(Image: Gerlach Delissen)