ESM Patrón Geared Up for Daytona

470-esm-1-daytona-LATDoleExtreme Speed Motorsports (ESM) – equipped with two Tequila Patrón-sponsored Honda Performance Development (HPD) ARX-03b race cars and seven world-class, championship-winning drivers – is ready to conquer the 2014 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship this weekend with the series’ longest and most challenging endurance race – the 52nd Annual Rolex 24 At Daytona.

This marks ESM’s third straight Rolex 24 At Daytona race. In 2012 and 2013, the team entered one GT racing machine with a best finish of ninth place in class. With the formation of the TUDOR Championship, ESM will practice, qualify and race two machines in the highly-competitive prototype class.

Led by ESM owner Scott Sharp, the Florida-based team spent much of the off season preparing for the 2014 season which included adding Ryan Dalziel to the team. Sharp and Dalziel serve as the season-long co-drivers and are teamed with David Brabham for the Rolex 24. The No. 1 Tequila Patrón HPD driving trio all have Rolex 24 wins to their credits. Sharp was the 1996 overall winner, Brabham earned a class win in 2003 and Dalziel was the overall winner in 2010.

Season-long co-drivers of the No. 2 Tequila Patrón HPD, Ed Brown and Johannes van Overbeek, are joined by two-time Rolex 24 winner Anthony Lazzaro (1999, 2002) and Simon Pagenaud, the 2006 Champ Car Atlantic champion and Brabham’s co-driver in 2010 when the two won the American Le Mans Series prototype class championship.

As the opening event for the inaugural TUDOR Championship season, the Rolex 24 At Daytona is also the first round of the four-race Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup (NAEC). The Tequila Patrón-sponsored championship within a championship includes the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring in March, Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen in June and the season finale Petit Le Mans in October. Watch as Brown and Sharp talk about the Tequila Patrón North American Endurance here.

The Rolex 24 – a twice-around-the-clock-classic – takes place on the 3.56-mile road course at Daytona International Speedway on Jan. 25-26. The 12-turn circuit utilizes portions of the track’s tri-oval and infield road course and is the first round of the TUDOR Championship. Qualifying for prototype cars is scheduled for 4:50 p.m. ET on Thursday, Jan. 23.