Race Performance Wins 2015-2016 Asian Le Mans Series Title

Photo: Asian Le Mans Series / Rewind Images

Swiss racing team Race Performance has won the 2015/2016 Asian Le Mans Series title in Sepang, after finishing in second place in today’s Three Hours of Malaysia.

Niki Leutwiler and Oliver Webb were unable to match the pace of race winners Sean Gelael and Antonio Giovinazzi in the Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia Oreca 03R-Nissan, but second place was enough for Leutwiler to be crowned champion.

Starting from pole position the Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JS P2-Nissan lost the lead on the opening lap to Antonio Giovinazzi. The Italian led the race until he made a planned stop on lap 23.

That resulted in Race Performance briefly taking the lead, but only for one lap as the Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia moved back into the lead as the Oreca 03R-Judd pitted.

From there on Giovinazzi and Gelael were unstoppable and went on to take a one minute and 43-second win over Leutwiler and Webb after 86 laps. With the No. 99 Eurasia Motorsport Oreca not making it to the finish second place was enough for Leutwiler to claim the title.

Having been repaired in time for the race the DC Racing Ligier JS P3 scored its fourth win in as many races in the LMP3 class. David Cheng, Ho-Pin Tung and Thomas Laurent finished 30 laps ahead of the Team AAI ADESS 03, which did have issues during the race.

Absolute Racing won the GT class at Sepang with its new Audi R8 LMS, ahead of the Team AAI BMW Z4 GT3. Third place for the Clearwater Racing McLaren 650S GT3 of Rob Bell Keita Sawa and Mok Weng Sun was enough for the trio to clinch the GT title and a Le Mans invitation.

Avelon Formula won the CN class, while KCMG claimed victory in the GTAm category.